2012 or “The Year I Get To Explain To My Kids That The World Is Not Going To End. Probably.”

Its a new year! Last year was… eventful. Stressful. But, still good. And ended on a high note.  I got sick, my husbands work dwindled, my job sucked. My niece was born, I got better, my husband picked up a new client and business boomed, I got a new job.

My kids got older. We faced some motivation/follow through challenges with Ozzie and watched him begin to mature into a responsible, thoughtful human being. (That is, and will remain a work in progress, I have no doubt.) Ivy’s best friend moved away. I’m still trying to figure out how to parent them without turning into a shrieking harpy most days. Sometimes I lock myself in my room. Sometimes they astonish me by how caring and funny and amazing they are.

My cat had kittens and then got hit by a car. We got to go to my cousins wedding in Sand Diego… which was seriously the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to. I got to dance with my husband. My brothers and I took intentionally awkward photos for my parents Christmas gift.

My grandfather died, horribly. My grandmother got dementia and my relationship with her changed… I am learning a lesson in what it means to get older, what it means to watch someone lose themself and be powerless to do anything about it. And to love them anyway.

I spent too much money and not enough time outdoors.  I got a kindle. I made new friends and got reacquainted with old ones. I realized it may be nearly impossible to run a business and work full time and raise children and have anything resembling a moment of down time.

I put my thrifting/yard sale habit to good use.  I forced myself to talk to strangers. I tried to be good.

And now its on to the next.

Leave a Reply

